Yashica-Mat and Purpose

I have two photos I’d like to show you from the same roll of film and the same camera. I took these in 2017 when I was wrapping up my undergrad degree at the University of Montana. At this point I carried a camera everywhere I went just incase anything interesting popped up.

This camera, the Yashica-Mat is a medium format box camera, which means the negatives are larger than the typical 35mm format. That also means there’s more detail, the prints you can make with a medium format negative are usually very beautiful and clear. You do get less shots than 35mm though, in this case you get twelve shots to a roll but the negatives are 6cm by 6cm. That’s a sizable difference. Here’s the camera:

It’s a twin lens reflex camera. There are two lenses, one in which the photographer looks through to view the image, and the second lens to actually capture the image on film. It’s a fun way to take a picture, in that you have to look down into the camera rather than holding it up to your face like you would with a 35mm camera. I find that when people see you holding this, ready to take a shot, they’re usually disarmed by the weirdness of the thing or kinda interested in that ‘grampa camera’ so you’re sometimes able to capture unique images. It’s also super quiet which this photo is kinda proof of:

I took this during a study session in ye old merry Mansfield library, where many a college student has kicked off their shoes, snuggled into their hoodie and fallen asleep. I like this shot. It’s cinematic, looks quiet and dated, like it was taken in 1980 but it’s a little cliche. There are a ton of library photos but I don’t really give a rip. I like the feeling it gives me.

I have no idea what these people were doing. I was walking toward the bus stop and saw them doin the dressing’ up shuffle. The best part of taking pictures of strangers or a crowd is that there will always be someone looking at the camera. I love that shit.

The film stock is Kodak Ektar 100, a very saturated almost grain free negative film. It’s almost like slide film. I use it very sporadically. I should shoot it more but I also don’t shoot much color film unless it’s slide.

So, why did I take these photos? I guess the simple answer is that I felt like it. Lately I’ve been thinking about needing a reason and/or purpose to take photos. Like there always has to be a goddamn important project or document. It really doesn’t have to be that way. As long as you’re working at composition, or trying to capture a feeling, or even just taking photos of your friends, I notice that there’s still satisfaction in simple acts of photography. I guess if there was a purpose, it’d be to keep it simple and keep yourself happy.

Leave a comment